Spain has released new information on a required form needed to cross Spanish borders. Spain has been in lockdown from the end of March due to the Covid-19 pandemic and has now reopened its borders to most foreign countries.

This week the European Union confirmed its decision to ban countries from crossing its borders if that country did not meet their set criteria – the number of new Covid-19 cases per 100,ooo persons must be close to or below that of the EU, within the last 14 days. The United States, Brasil and Russia do not meet this requirement. Thus, those 3 countries are banned from entering the European Union.

Those countries allowed to enter the European Union (besides those from the EU and the Schengen Area) are Àlgeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay.  The European Union confirmed China would be allowed entry if the agreement was reciprocated.

Border Check

Spain has implemented new protocols to ensure the health and safety of its citizens and visitors. This includes an obligatory health check at the borders for every person entering.

Prior to entering Spain, you must complete an online form. This form is required by all non-citizens entering Spain, regardless of age, nationality, etc…It is not transferable and is for a one time use only. This means every time you enter Spain, you must fill out the form again.

The form is simple and asks for your name, passport number, flight number, arrival date, and email address. You then receive an email confirmation with the required QR Code. You can save this code to  your mobile phone or print it to carry it with you. You must present this form at border control.

You can access this form and further information here.

Andaspain will continue to provide updates on our blog page with the current health situation in Spain due to Covid-19.